Friday, September 4, 2009

Tank Shock!

Yesterday evening was a blast for us! We have a game 2 on 2 fielding a 1750pts each. We have a deathguard, Alpha Legion+Thousand sons, a Necron and a "lady" orks player! I will get the battle report post on later.. well it is this particular question that I need you guys to shed some lights here on :"Tank shock" Apparently I have my Land Raider trying to tank shock a unit of Necron warriors defending an objective on a building that have 2 floors, the issue is the warriors have half of its unit on the ground floor and another half of the unit is on 1st floor. Well, I understand even I've tank shock them successfully I won't be contesting the objective anyway... but my question is: If an unit defending a building gets a tank shock, will the whole unit move away to give way for the tank(even they are on different floor) or only some models are affected?


erfunk said...

I'd think the models that move would be any that, once the Land Raider comes to a stop, are within 1" (in any direction, including up) of your vehicle's hull. I need to go reread the tank shocking rules.

Anton said...

There are two possible outcomes: if the Necron unit fail their morale test, they're going to fall back. If they pass, they simply move out of the way of the tank and remain at least 1" away. The only applicable restriction in the ruin itself would be that the models physically fit on the ruin.

FWIW, the GW Cities of Death terrain is 3" between levels.

Warpwhisperer said...

Just so you know, if your Landraider is sitting on the objective, it is indeed contesting the objective, just not controlling it.

So you cant count it as yours, but you do stop the Necron player counting it as his.