Saturday, August 1, 2009

Weaken Resolve with Divine Pronouncement on non-fearless units

I have a chat with a going to be guard player yesterday. While he listen to how Ahriman can turn a Ctan deceiver into a spawn, he told me that he will use a 9 men primaris pysker to counter the Ahriman or any psychic attack (something to reduce the sorcerer's leadership to 2) I really don't know anything about guard's rules... but need you guys to help me out here... does that particular psychic attack affects units embark in a transport?

12 comments:

Col.Gravis said...

Not as such no, for one thing he can't target you while your in a transport, you'd need to be disembarked. However if they can be targetted and are successfuly their leadership would be reduced down by the number of Pysker models in the Battle Pysker Squad for the remainder of the turn.

Warpspace said...

Col.Gravis - Thanks! means it only affects the unit for a turn only? and target again if they want to in the next turn?

BeastofShadow said...

The general consences is that the ld is reduced permanantly. So lets say you have Ahriman and he targets the squad he's in. The power works so now the only way he'll be able to use a power for the rest of the game is by rolling snake-eyes. As per far as targeting in a vehicle goes I think it is the same as Eldar Fortuning a unit inside a Falcon. It's not legit if the Uk GT FAQ is official. Hope that helps. :)

mregazzi said...

Specifically, only the player's turn.

michael said...

haha, finaly there's a threat to your 'godlike' ahriman..

Warpspace said...

beastofshadow - Thanks! but can my non fearless unit fall back even in a transport?

mregazzi - Thank you very much!

Michael - Haha! I'm knowing my enemy now..

Da_Sub said...

Ah but isn't it just "reduced by the number of models in the battle squad". That would mean that this is a fluid number, so drop some Ord or rapid fire on the PBSquad and watch the LD come back up as each of the squaddies dies...
At least that is how the rule is played at my local GW.

Warpspace said...

Da_sub - Yeah!

Raptor1313 said...

Just to add the full quotes...

"This power is used during the Psyker Battle Squad's Shooting Phase. Choose one enemy unit within 36" and in LOS of the Psyker Battle Squad. For the remainder of the turn, the enemy unit's leadership is reducd by the number of Sanctioned Psykers in the unit utilising the power (to a minimum of 2)."

Per p9 of the rulebook, "'whenever a rule uses the word 'turn', but in this rulebook and the codexes, it means 'player turn', otherwise it will clearly state 'game turn.'"

@Beast of Shadows
That's an interesting consensus for the power's duration, but incorrect.

In general, this means the Weaken Resolve power is good for dropping leadership and forcing units to take and fail morale/pinning checks. Obviously, if you're fearless, it's not a big deal.

The other nasty combination is to use this power in conjunction with a Calldius' Assassin's Neural Shredder, which is a flamer that does damage according to leadership value. She can wipe out just about anything with that mix, though you will have to take an Inquisitor from one of the Witch/Daemonhunter books. (Hey, that can get you a leadership 10 psychic hood, which is your only defense against psychic powers short of killing the psyker for the Guard...)

It does mean they can sit safely in a chimera and think nasty thoughts out the top. Comedy is watching them Perils repeatedly and toss bodies out the back...

Warpspace said...

Raptor1313 - Cool! means other than the combination of the Callidus assasin is consider "useful" it only can do much damage on for dropping leadership and forcing units to take and fail morale/pinning checks. uhhh.....means Ahriman will have his revenge on the next turn! I'm starting to have a clearer picture on this...

Raptor1313 said...

Yeah, you cannot stop psychic powers with 'Weaken Resolve', but you CAN nuke super-units (the non-fearless ones) into submission.

One of the 'Nob Bikers is DED!' signs (other than folks realizing S8 weapons and/or termiantors were good) is the scrub-squad. (I mean, the newbs got the cool powers, and the Primaris Psyker got...some stuff.). Or, "Hey, you guys are now Ld 2. EAT ORDNANCE. Oh, some guys died. Morale and/or pinning, please."

Chris said...

NO!!!!!! i feel like ripping out page9 in the rule book now, i tot I could use it against psykers. meh! i tried a callidus + psyker combo and i love it